Zero Tolerance Law
Underage Drinking and Driving
Under New York's Zero Tolerance Law, New York Vehicle and Traffic
Law Section 1192-a any person operating a motor vehicle under the
age of twenty-one with a blood alcohol content of between .02% and
.07% faces a mandatory period of suspension. You are entitled to
a hearing to determine if you did operate the vehicle with .02%
A first offense carries a fine of $125.00 and a 6 months suspension
of your driver’s license. You are, however, eligible to obtain
a conditional license by completing the NYS Drinking Driver Program.
If you have previously been convicted of an alcohol related driving
offense under any subdivision of VTL 1192, your license will be
revoked for one year or until you reach the age of 21, whichever
Unlike convictions for those over the age of 21, when you reach
the age of 21 the suspension will be removed from your driving record.
If you or a loved one is in need of legal assistance, call DerGarabedian, Nathan, Marino & Rodriguez at (516) 766-1619 or schedule a consultation
and review. The initial consultation is free of charge.